Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
RetroBob

Thinking about cancelling my GamesTM subscription

I've been thinking about cancelling my subscription to GamesTM. I've been a subscriber ever since issue 2 having excitedly picked up issue 1 when I saw it had a dedicated retro section. It was thanks to this that I started playing current gen games again and I bought an Xbox, then a Game Cube and GameBoy Advance SP. I don't know if the mag has changed, or me (probably both now I re read through what I've put), but I just feel less bothered about reading it. I'll go for ages and then realise I've got three or four issues to read through and then when I do, much of it feels like a chore.

I do like the correspondents… The Shape, weird veggie Tim the Japanese correspondent who is now based in America (!?), and Howard Scott Warshaw is brilliant in the Retro section. It's just the rest of the mag that doesn't grab me. The interviews at the beginning just are a bit meh, don't like the layout and can't be arsed reading them. Then it's previews, mostly games I'm not bothered about, will read one or two but that's really it. Then there's the features… which are mostly extended previews masking themselves as a feature and then a genuine feature which often can't be arsed to read or if I do I end up falling asleep (I read in bed). These days I can get the gist of a story from reading the headline on Kotaku and not even need to bother clicking through unless it's something I'm interested in... am I too lazy or too short of time? Both?