Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Help with latency


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 clairebear

clairebear

    yummy

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:dumfries scotland

Posted 17 December 2014 - 08:34 AM

So see trying to stream movies on Xbox one - joke. I bought season 4 game of thrones and it was constantly buffering. As decided to call sky as thought my internet had gone wonky.as my download speed was 24 they said it had to be a problem with live so after a hour on the phone to them I finally figured out that the latency is up at 174! Shocking.
Eventually I spoke to someone at sky again who will be calling me back today to open like a million ports. Shouldn't they be able to just fix this without opening the ports? I'm a bit clueless with all this.

#2 Al

Al

    The future is tricklenet

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Location: Location:
  • Interests:Games, music, books, boobies

Posted 17 December 2014 - 10:14 AM

About the same for everyone, did a quick Google and most people seem to get what you are. I am also, its seems to have stuff all to do with your internet speed. Looks like bad networking on the Bone



#3 clairebear

clairebear

    yummy

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:dumfries scotland

Posted 17 December 2014 - 10:34 AM

It's fucking terrible. I'm Not chuffed. Need this fixed

#4 Al

Al

    The future is tricklenet

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Location: Location:
  • Interests:Games, music, books, boobies

Posted 17 December 2014 - 10:53 AM

I have read that it pings the Seattle based servers when you test them, if you check in game pings they are a lot lower as they are more local.

Sounds like video is being streamed from abroad.



#5 SlyEnemy

SlyEnemy

    Spreadsheet Enthusiast

  • Retro Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 12,791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Internet
  • Interests:Gravity

Posted 17 December 2014 - 07:28 PM

Have you tried changing your DNS settings on the Bone to Google's free open source DNS? That may improve things.
Raptr Gamercard

#6 Somerset_Bumkin

Somerset_Bumkin

    It's all in the reflexes

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,796 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Zummerzet

Posted 18 December 2014 - 12:05 AM

Netflix is pretty much unusable on the bone so I gave up and use my iPad in bed instead. The bone still has a lot of teething problems all stemming from trying the shoehorn the imprenetrable windows 8 that I give as much fucks about learning how to use as they gave making the shit.
It's all in the reflexes.

#7 Al

Al

    The future is tricklenet

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Location: Location:
  • Interests:Games, music, books, boobies

Posted 18 December 2014 - 09:15 AM

It is also not easy to use to stream from a Win 7 PC to the Bone using Windows Media Player.

I need another good DNLA server.



#8 Shufty

Shufty

    Xylophonic Buggerist

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,250 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds

Posted 18 December 2014 - 09:40 AM

Tried Plex?

https://plex.tv/xbox

Captain Birdseye was a paedophile. "Now son, do you want some of my special cod?"
 


#9 Al

Al

    The future is tricklenet

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Location: Location:
  • Interests:Games, music, books, boobies

Posted 18 December 2014 - 09:47 AM

No, but I shall, thanks :)



#10 Al

Al

    The future is tricklenet

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Location: Location:
  • Interests:Games, music, books, boobies

Posted 18 December 2014 - 09:49 AM

Is it free to use as a media server, you just can pay for other features?



#11 clairebear

clairebear

    yummy

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:dumfries scotland

Posted 18 December 2014 - 10:36 AM

Not tried those things but I will. Now sky is saying that I have router issues and will send me a new one. I'm pretty dubious about this to be fair.
You know when they're telling you to turn the router on and off they have no clue what's wrong....

#12 Al

Al

    The future is tricklenet

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Location: Location:
  • Interests:Games, music, books, boobies

Posted 18 December 2014 - 10:52 AM

Some I know in IT tech support is a champion of turn it off and on, he said it clears loads of "stuff", I was lost after that point.

But I think it is a Xbone issue, not your ISP or router etc.



#13 Shufty

Shufty

    Xylophonic Buggerist

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,250 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds

Posted 18 December 2014 - 11:19 AM

Off and on is a valid fix.

Al, free to use but you can buy extra stuff. I played with it and it's pretty easy to set up and use.

Captain Birdseye was a paedophile. "Now son, do you want some of my special cod?"
 


#14 Shufty

Shufty

    Xylophonic Buggerist

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,250 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds

Posted 18 December 2014 - 11:22 AM

Double checked the page and you *might* need Plex Pass for Xbone access, might not. Not entirely clear on the site. Give it a whirl.

Captain Birdseye was a paedophile. "Now son, do you want some of my special cod?"
 


#15 Al

Al

    The future is tricklenet

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Location: Location:
  • Interests:Games, music, books, boobies

Posted 18 December 2014 - 11:28 AM

I see DviX is a media server, I have so I'll give it a whirl.



#16 El_Patriot

El_Patriot

    Advanced Member

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,943 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Hive of Scum and Villainy

Posted 18 December 2014 - 04:04 PM

Claire, have you tried running a speed test from a different device, phone or laptop?

#17 Al

Al

    The future is tricklenet

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Location: Location:
  • Interests:Games, music, books, boobies

Posted 18 December 2014 - 09:24 PM

Shufty, Plex works a treat, the menu system is a chore, but otherwise great.

 

El P, it is an Xbox One issue, nothing else, M$ need to fix it. Maybe by streaming movies from this continent. 



#18 Ginja

Ginja

    Mehathon!!!

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Inside my head.

Posted 18 December 2014 - 09:56 PM

I have no issues with Netflix on the Bone or PS4.


- it's a playground, but one where the slide jerks you off while the swings explode.



Posted Image

#19 RetroBob

RetroBob

    16-Bit

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,718 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 19 December 2014 - 10:35 AM

Is.....

 

 

 

 

 

 

your......

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

modem????????????????

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sorry  :(


XBL: RetroBob

3DS: 0232 8156 8633

Switch: 0175-5235-6428


#20 clairebear

clairebear

    yummy

  • Established
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,821 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:dumfries scotland

Posted 19 December 2014 - 09:14 PM

It's my modem?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users